Financial Security: Side Gigs

One thing I have finally got into doing recently is earning money from secondary sources. Many people get into the habit of getting all of their money from one source that they are not prepared in the slightest if and when they suddenly lose their job. The best way to make sure that if you suddenly lose one source of income, that you are not suddenly screwed, is to make sure you have more than one source.

I work a minimum wage job, and that job pays for all of my bills. But recently I have been experiencing hour cuts and I always have the possibility of suddenly losing my job if the economy dips, so I make sure that I earn some kind of money on the side. Many people might think that making some money on the side is hard, but it has to be the easiest thing I have done, and I regret that I didn’t do it sooner.

Now my side jobs would never be able to pay all of my bills as of right now but it is something that I can get and pay off extra bills, or put into my Betterment account. Since I started doing this a couple of months ago, I have earned almost 100$ a month, with the possibility to grow exponentially.

My favorite ways of making money on the side? Well, there are many that I recommend.

Blogging/Vlogging

Blogging is a good way to earn a small amount of money every month on the side, although chances are, you won’t earn much, and you will need to put a LOT of time and effort into writing various articles for the blog or vlog. If you do it right, however, you can continue making money from ad revenue and affiliate marketing down the line.

I spent 200 dollars a year for a potentially popular vegan website I had been working on for a year, after that year I had to let the site go because I was in deep financial trouble and could not keep the website afloat. I am sure that if I was able to pay for it for another year, I’d be able to make the website pay for itself.

I personally think Vlogging, or Video Blogging, has more potential for making money in the long run and faster, but due to recent events with YouTube demonetizing videos, it’s more hit-or-miss. Writing is also easier than video editing and vlogging usually requires a higher monetary investment for cameras and audio devices in order to make the best Vlogging channel and to compete with others.

Freelancing:

My favorite way of earning extra money is Freelancing. Either on websites like Fiverr or Freelancer, you can tell someone who you will be able to sell a skill for 5+ dollars, and can make a decent living by doing the assignments. I am a writer on Fiverr, and have earned 48 dollars in my first month on the site, with a possibly 220 dollars worth of orders comings up soon.

Ebooks:

I sell… adult-rated ebooks online under a pseudonym. These don’t make me much, but they do make me a usable amount. In March I earned over 100$ in ebook sales, in April I earned only 12$, but in March so far, I have already earned 25$. I will never be able to make a living by ebook sales alone, but it is something to give me a little extra money in Passive Income that can help pay a bill or two, or purchase a few weeks of food, or just a little extra to put in my savings account.

There are, of course, other ways you can earn a little bit of money. I once earned some pocket change on sites like Swagbucks, apps like Ibotta, and the like. But since I earned s little from it, it was basically pointless for me to continue using apps like that, as I felt my time was not properly invested for the pay I was receiving. And of course, there are good money-makers like Uber, Lyft, and Etsy as well.

Just find the side jobs that best fits your availability and talents, and soon you will be on your way to financial security!

Leave a Reply

